Skip to main content

If you are on the waiting list for Developmental Disability (DD) Waiver funding, you might have access to a variety of resources. These resources might be:

  • Eligibility-based (such as CCC+ waivers, Housing Choice Vouchers, and employment supports),
  • Community-based (such as locally-funded programs, grants from fraternal or religious organizations),
  • Relationship-based (resources and supports through connections of those with whom you have natural relationships), 
  • Technology-based (smartphone, Alexa, iPad, apps), or
  • Anything that harnesses someone’s own talents and contributions (learn more about this through the Charting the LifeCourse framework).

Once you have been approved for a waiver, there are additional service options available through one of the three DD Waivers:

  1. Building Independence (BI) waivers,
  2. Family and Individual Supports (FIS) waivers, and
  3. Community Living (CL) waivers.

The first step is knowing what type of funding you have. (Read more about DD Waivers in the "Navigating the DD Waivers" Guidebook.)


Next, you can start locating your options. You might work with a Support Coordinator who can help you consider, apply for, and access services. Support Coordination is also called Case Management. (Get more details about Support Coordination).

The My Life, My Community website is designed to make your provider search easier, but the choice is still yours! Have you thought about the types of questions you would ask a potential provider? Take time to think about the questions that matter to you.

For example, you might ask:

  • How long have they been in business? What are their values?
  • What kind of training do they provide to their staff?
  • How do they support people to have a meaningful life?
  • Are they licensed? If so, are they in good standing?
  • Do they have certain skills or training that you want or need?

If you have a DD Waiver, you can search for providers by service, by locality/zip code, or by specialty designation. DBHDS works with providers to find and resolve gaps in services. They also have a process that identifies and recognizes providers who meet standards for providing support in one of four specialty areas:

  1. Complex health supports,
  2. Complex behavioral supports,
  3. Accessible settings, and
  4. Autism.

DD Waiver providers who have successfully completed this process can be located in the Helpful Links at the bottom of this page, under “Locate Providers by Designation.”